Articles

Observations of a Home Inspector, Part 5

Posted on Nov. 9, 2010 by
LIVEVALUATION , November 2010 Issue Written by Michael Connolly, CI Smart Move Inspections, Inc. Observations of a Home Inspector Last month we started into the Improvements section of the URAR form and discussed a home inspector’s observation as it might relate to the General Description and Foundation sections of the form. This installment will continue in the Improvements section. We will discuss some common . Read More →

Observations of a Home Inspector, Part 4

Posted on Oct. 6, 2010 by
LIVEVALUATION , October 2010 Issue Submitted by Michael Connolly, CI  Smart Move Inspections, Inc. Observations of an Inspector  Read more... (1992 words, estimated 7:58 mins reading time) Read the full post Read More →

Observations of a Home Inspector, Part 3

Posted on Sep. 15, 2010 by
LIVEVALUATION , September 2010 Issue Submitted by Michael Connolly, CI  Smart Move Inspections, Inc. Last month’s installment touched on how a home inspector might address sections of the Uniform Residential Appraisal Report “URAR.”.  Having already reviewed the “Subject”, “Contract” and “Neighborhood” sections, we continue to the “Site” section of the report. SITE Home inspectors do not evaluate lot shape or dimensions, and typically . Read More →

Observations of a Home Inspector, Part 2

Posted on Jun. 2, 2010 by
LIVEVALUATION , May 2010 Issue.  Submitted by Michael Connolly, CI  Smart Move Inspections, Inc. Last month’s installment touched on how a home inspector might address sections of the Uniform Residential Appraisal Report (URAR).  Having already addressed the Subject Property, we will continue on into the Contract and Neighborhood sections of the form in this installment.  Read more... (1823 words, estimated 7:18 . Read More →

Observations of a Home Inspector, Part 1

Posted on May. 2, 2010 by
LIVEVALUATION , May 2010 Issue.  Submitted by Michael Connolly, CI  Smart Move Inspections, Inc. In a prior life, I spent ten years working for a prominent Midwest appraisal firm.  Between this experience and running my own home inspection business for the last 16 years, I have found that inspectors and appraisers share some common issues. I have acquired a special appreciation . Read More →